Department Directory

Burkburnett Independent School District


Salary Schedules & Benefits

Classroom teachers, librarians, and registered nurses will be paid no less than the minimum state salary schedule. (See Pay Scales below)

All BISD employees are paid semimonthly over a 12 month period by direct deposit
Payroll deductions employees may make include the employee's share of premiums for health, dental, life, and vision insurance; tax deferred annuities; the Texas Tomorrow Fund; TRS Service
Buy Back; Teacher Organizations; United Way; Roth IRA; legal plans; and savings and loan payments through the Wichita Falls Teachers' Credit Union
The District pays $370 per month toward the employee's health insurance premium.
• District pays for a base life insurance plan for all full-time employees
Health, Dental, Vision, Life, Cancer, Long Term Care, and Disability coverage is available to all full time employees. Requires enrollment.
A section 125 Flexible Fringe Benefits Plan is offered to employees
The District has an Employee Wellness Program which annually offers free to employees: Flu immunization and complete blood profile,
• 10 days paid leave: 5 state personal days and 5 local days that will accumulate annually (state days follow employee to any district in the state; local days cap at 100)
Sick Leave Bank available to employees in the event of an unexpected illness, surgery, or disability due to an injury. Requires membership.
Family Medical Leave available to employees who have been employed by the district for at least 12 months and meet the eligibility criteria. Employee may be granted up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave each year if they are eligible.
• The district, in accordance with state law, provides workers' compensation insurance to employees.
19-20 Teacher Salary Schedule
The salaries listed above are based on 10-month employment for the 2019-20 school year. Salary is determined on an annual basis and salary advancement is not guaranteed. Pay increases are based on the annual pay raise budget approved by the Board of Trustees.